The deal with disappointments…

overcoming-disappointments

It has been very rough for me lately. As a creative artist, one has to work in an enabling environment (you know, the kind that lets you harness your creative abilities optimally). The environment has neither been enabling nor favorable and it seems as though the opportunities refuse to come. It is as disappointing as it is depressing. Some days, I find it so difficult to get out of bed because I fear for having yet another day like the last one- a phobia which branches into other different ones and eventually frightens me back to the only place that still feels safe: my bed.

As much as I would like to go on and on about how its leading to some kind of depression, my point is, I get it. I know what it feels like to want something so much and suffer because it seems too big a dream to achieve. I know what it feels like to be made empty promises and to be let down. I know what it feels like to be treated with disrespect and looked down on. I know what it feels to completely trust a person and have them betray you over and over. I understand the true meaning of disappointment. There is always someone in this world who has been in a worse place than you and who has been in a better place, this therefore means that you have never really been alone and even now, you are not alone because someone, somewhere has been right where you are (this may not offer any kind of real consolation, but it does give some relief that you aren’t somewhat abnormal, doesn’t it?)

The key to unlocking this gigantic, rusty door (at least one that I would recommend as it has worked for me in the past) is to never give up. It is that simple even though the process might be tiring and a little frustrating but if you think about it critically, you would see that persistence ALWAYS pays. Create in your head that fantasy world where all your dreams come true over and over and it is only going to be a matter of time before that becomes your reality (also close your mind to all kinds of negative things, that could slow you down a lot). I may be in a really awful place at the moment but I never stop dreaming. The second most important thing to do is to let go of all the pain and all the hurt. It does not define who you are, it is only a phase in your life. Just let it go.

My name is Aubrey and I’ve been happy to share.

TO DO : Create your perfect world in your mind and  push out those negative thoughts

DAILY MANTRA : You will find it is necessary to let things go; simply for the reason that they are heavy.

 

One comment on “The deal with disappointments…

Leave a Reply

